The inauguration ceremony for the Community College China Union (CCCU).
ELS partners to launch Community College China Union

In partnership with ELS Education Services and Hailiang Education Group, the Community College China Union (CCCU) has been founded as a consortium of institutions aiming to promote the U.S. community college pathway and 2+2 system in China.

An inauguration event for CCCU, which initially gathers 12 institutions, was hosted at Hailiang Foreign Language School at Hailiang Education Park in Zhuji, Zhejiang province, in cooperation with ELS last week.


"With its more than 100 years' history, we have found that the community college system in the U.S. could have great value for our students at Hailiang when they consider pursuing higher education in the U.S.," said Vice President of International Development at Hailiang Education Group, Auto Yau.


"The system provides our students with a convenient and clear pathway to help them get into highly ranked four-year institutions after achieving their associate degree. By founding the Community College China Union (CCCU) with ELS, we hope to help more community colleges promote their academic programmes and services to Chinese students."


Director of University Partner Relations & Development at ELS, Dean R. Wright, delivered a presentation to Hailiang students on the benefits of ELS Community College Pathway courses.


"ELS is very pleased to partner with the Hailiang Education Group in the establishment of the Community College China Union (CCCU) to help promote community college transfer pathways into American universities, and their many benefits," he said. "Many Chinese students are currently not familiar with these benefits, specifically with the articulation and guaranteed admissions agreements that many community colleges have with four-year universities. We look forward to supporting the growth of the CCCU."


The founding institutions of the CCCU are: Santa Rosa Junior College; De Anza College; Foothill College; Green River College; Shoreline Community College; Orange Coast College; Fulton-Montgomery Community College; South Seattle College; Kapi'olani Community College (University of Hawai'i); Whatcom Community College; California Lutheran University; Santiago Canyon College; and Northern Illinois University.


Under the CCCU arrangement, Hailiang students will have increased access to counselling from the institutions in this network and expedited application processing, with some scholarships also available.


The ELS Community College Pathway connects international students with several institutions, including specific programmes in California, New York, Washington and Arizona. ELS also provides university pathway courses in Australia, Canada, China, India, Malaysia and the USA.  



By Matthew Knott

News Editor